A World Of Silence – Selective Mutism

Have you ever had a dream where you try to scream and can’t? Can you imagine that feeling in everyday life? I can and I did most days. From the age of 3 I have suffered from a condition which I never knew the name of or indeed had a diagnosis for. Years later at the age of 33 I finally found out. I had been suffering from a condition called Selective Mutism. Finally I had a name and could answers for a LOT of things that plaqued me growing up.

It appears to be rather common but not well known condition. Unfortunately for me and many others there is never a diagnosis believing it only to be extreme shyness. If left untreated it can lead to further problems. For me it has improved but I still have social anxiety which means I cannot feel as comfortable as others in social gatherings, public speaking and crowds. This is more complicated than it sounds.

So what is Selective Mutism. Well it varies but it is a form of anxiety and is thought to be genetic. I also want to clear up a common misconception. Its not that we cannot speak, rather that our bodies will not allow us to in certain situations. Literally as if our bodies have us trapped inside them. The anxiety takes hold and the panic rises. With the right help it can be cured. Its difficult to write this as it can affect people differently so I am leaving a link below for more information. Its hard to share the contents of a daily basis lasting 31 years and counting in a single post! I will try to write more about this in future updates. Im still on my own journey but have come a long way. If it can help others, in particular children and their parents, then it will have made my stuggle seem a little easier. It can be cured and I did progress without help so imagine how far you can go with the help.

http://www.selectivemutismcenter.org/aboutus/whatisselectivemutism

If you have this condition or know someone who has and would like to ask a question please feel free to leave a comment below.

1 thought on “A World Of Silence – Selective Mutism

Leave a comment